The 10 Weeks of Chili, Week 1: Pumpkin Turkey Chili

I absolutely love fall and I see no better way to celebrate the season than a new food series!  I am going to be celebrating chili!  I have an awesome lineup of 10 chili recipes.  I will make one each week and, good or bad, I will be posting here.  I hope you enjoy this series.  My family can’t wait to eat chili for the next 10 weeks!

img_5843

Pumpkin Turkey Chili

Ingredients:

1 pound ground turkey

1 medium onion, chopped

2 green peppers, chopped

1, 28-oz box chopped tomatoes

1, 15-oz can black beans

1, 15-oz can kidney beans

1 cup pureed pumpkin

1, 8-oz can tomato sauce

1 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice

1 tablespoon chili powder

1 teaspoon cumin

1 teaspoon garlic powder

1/2 teaspoon sea salt

1/2 teaspoon black pepper

Directions:

  • Brown ground turkey on stove.
  • Add browned turkey and all other ingredients to crockpot.
  • Cook on low for 7-8 hours.
  • Enjoy!

Notes:

I was surprised that this recipe didn’t taste a bit more pumpkin-y.  There was a slight flavor, but nothing strong.  The pumpkin served more to thicken the chili.  I don’t know if this will become a favorite, but we definitely enjoyed it!

This recipe is modified from a recipe I found at: http://hip2save.com/2015/10/16/slow-cooker-pumpkin-ground-turkey-chili/ Thanks for the inspiration!

One thought on “The 10 Weeks of Chili, Week 1: Pumpkin Turkey Chili

Leave a Reply

