Crockpot Cinnamon Oatmeal

A few weeks ago I went out to breakfast with some friends and I was so excited to get oatmeal!  I have posted before about my love of oatmeal, but lately, I just haven’t had time to make it on the stove.  Making it in the microwave is quick, but not even close to being as good.  I thought going out to eat, I could get some good, old-fashioned oatmeal!  So excited…

Welp, I ordered the “old-fashioned oatmeal” and even got to choose a couple toppings!  Baked apples and granola.  Now that is just sounding delicious.  Then, as I went to pay, I watched, right in front of my very eyes, the lady get my oatmeal together.  She took out a plastic, PLASTIC, bowl, scooped some dried oats in, put some water on, and stuck it in the microwave.  $5 for oatmeal and you are going to microwave it?!?!  AND, microwave it in PLASTIC!?  Everyone reading my blog has probably guessed how I feel about plastic.  I try to stay away from it as much as possible, I use glass leftover containers, glass water bottles , glass baby bottles, glass baby food jars, etc.  I’m even more opposed to plastic when something is warm.  Seems like the plastic will just leach into the food.

So, long story short, I really was shocked.  I couldn’t believe a restaurant would use microwaving as their method of cooking, especially with no shame, right in front of the customer.  With that being said, if they were microwaving in glass, I still would have eaten it, but been sad.  But, I can’t eat oatmeal microwaved in plastic.  I politely asked for a bagel instead.

Since that fateful day, I have really stepped up my efforts to develop a crockpot oatmeal recipe.  Something quick and easy that gives the great old-fashioned oatmeal taste.  Finally, about 10 batches later, I have it!  Cooking time is 3 hours so this works best for brunch on the weekend rather than a before work breakfast.  If you let it cook for 3 hours and then switch to warm for the rest of the night, it will burn, so don’t do this as an overnight recipe.

Hope you enjoy!  (And thanks for listening to my oatmeal story! :))

IMG_2391

Crockpot Cinnamon Oatmeal

Ingredients:

2 cups old-fashioned oats

4 cups water

2 cups unsweetened almond milk

1/4 cup maple syrup

1 teaspoon vanilla

1 teaspoon cinnamon

Directions:

  • Place all ingredients in the crockpot.
  • Cook on low for 3 hours.  Stir once or twice.
  • Enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

