Paleo Lemon Poppy Seed Muffins

I love good healthy muffin recipes!  Muffins are such a great snack on the go.  After I finish making muffins, I put 2 to a bag and store in my fridge and freezer.  I then have snack bags ready to go for morning snacks at work.  This is a great, flavorful recipe.  Hope you enjoy!

IMG_3287

Paleo Lemon Poppy Seed Muffins

Ingredients:

4 eggs

zest of 1 lemon

juice from 1 lemon

1/4 cup coconut oil

1/4 cup honey

1 teaspoon vanilla

1/8 teaspoon salt

1/3 cup coconut flour

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1 tablespoon poppy seeds

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Line 8 muffin tins.
  • Add all ingredients except poppy seeds to food processor and combine.  Stir in poppy seeds.
  • Bake 25-30 minutes until golden brown and you can poke with toothpick and it comes out clean.

Notes:

To zest a lemon – Take a cheese grater and run lightly over the lemon.  You only want the outer peel to scrape off; you do not what the bitter white part below the peel.  Be sure to wash the lemon before you begin and it’s best to choose organic to avoid wax on the peel.  I have a picture below.

This recipe makes 8 muffins.  If I go through the work of baking, I like to get a good amount of muffins in my freezer for future weeks.  Therefore, I triple this recipe and make 24 muffins.

I found this recipe at http://cookeatpaleo.com/lemon-poppy-paleo-muffins/ Thanks for the inspiration!

IMG_3284

Zested Lemon

4 thoughts on “Paleo Lemon Poppy Seed Muffins

  1. These look delicious. I love a strong lemon flavor. These would be great with blueberries instead of poppy seeds too! Your pumpkin muffins with almond flour are still my favorites … (especially when you add chocolate chips for me!) 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

