Mexican Rice Bowls

As I’m sure you can tell, I have been in the mood for Mexican lately!  I love making Mexican rice bowls.  They’re a fun twist on typical tacos and make for easy leftovers.

IMG_4175

Mexican Rice Bowl

Ingredients:

Wild Rice

1 pound ground beef

1 can black beans

1/4 cup water

2 tablespoons taco seasoning (recipe below)

avocado, chopped

tomatoes, chopped

green onions, chopped

cilantro

your favorite salsa

Directions:

  • Make rice according to directions on package.  If there are no directions, it is usually safe to boil water and rice together at a 2:1 water to rice ratio.  Reduce heat to simmer and stir occasionally until the water is gone.
  • Brown ground beef.  When browned, add black beans, 1/4 cup water, and 2 tablespoons taco seasoning.  Stir together and cook over medium heat until water is gone.
  • Make rice bowls by placing rice in bottom of bowl, adding the meat/bean mixture, and then topping with all other ingredients.
  • Enjoy!

Taco Seasoning:

One of my friends just gave me her taco seasoning recipe and it is good.  I modified it very slightly, but it is almost identical.  She suggested making a big batch and storing it so it is ready to be used when you cook.  Here it is:

1 tablespoon chili powder

1/4 teaspoon garlic powder

1/4 teaspoon onion powder

1/8 teaspoon cayenne pepper (optional)

1/2 teaspoon oregano

1/2 teaspoon paprika

1 1/2 teaspoons cumin

1/2 teaspoon sea salt

1/2 teaspoon black pepper

Notes:

This is a great dish to have leftovers for lunch.  I place my rice and meat/beans in a large glass container and the toppings in a small glass container.  At work, I can heat up the large container, and then dump the toppings from the small container on top.

I would love to hear from you on your favorite Mexican rice bowl ideas!  Any favorite toppings that I’ve left out or any favorite taco seasoning recipes?  Let me know!

IMG_4176

Seasoned Meat and Beans

Leave a Reply

