Broccoli Soup

In honor of St. Patrick’s Day, I am posting my favorite green soup recipe!  Broccoli soup made with broccoli, spinach, and avocado!  It is delicious green goodness!

Ingredients:

1  tablespoon olive oil

1 medium onion, diced

2 garlic cloves, minced (or a small scoop of pre-chopped garlic)

1/4 teaspoon red pepper flakes

4 cups chicken broth (or vegetable broth)

1-4 heads of broccoli, chopped (I find I need about 4 heads if I use organic since they are smaller, 1-2 if I use conventional)

3 cups fresh spinach

1 avocado

salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

  • Heat oil over medium heat in large pot
  • Add onion, garlic, and red pepper flakes
  • Cook for about 6-8 minutes while stirring until onions are tender
  • Add broth and bring to a boil
  • Add broccoli and cook covered for about 5 minutes (or less) until broccoli is green and tender
  • Stir in spinach
  • Turn off heat
  • Stir in avocado
  • Puree with an immersion blender (or move to a blender)
  • Season with salt and pepper
  • Enjoy!

Notes:

Broccoli cooks quickly so this recipe does not take long!  I highly recommend making this delicious, fast, and easy soup!

My broccoli soup was inspired by a recipe I found at: http://www.marthastewart.com/1050712/creamy-broccoli-soup  Thanks for the inspiration!

 

IMG_3838

Broccoli Soup

Leave a Reply

